ROOTS | International Reggae Poster Contest 2024

IRIE | Roots - International Reggae Poster Contest 2024

International Reggae Poster Contest 2024

Jamaican roots of hip-hop

On the 50th anniversary of hip-hop in 2023, the International Reggae Poster Contest celebrates the innovative Clive Campbell, aka DJ Kool Herc, who laid the foundation of the genre. Born in Kingston, Jamaica in 1955, Campbell migrated at the age of 12 to the Bronx, New York. He took with him knowledge of the sound system and the musical styles of old-school Jamaican DJs like U-Roy, King Stitt and Count Matchuki. Herc rapped over riddims and experimented with the instrumental break. He created the breakbeat – the heart and soul of hip-hop.

The Contest invites entries on all aspects of hip-hop, from its sturdy roots in Jamaica to its massive branches across the globe.

Competition dates are as follows:

Submissions open: November 1, 2023
Submissions close: March 10, 2024 

Voting dates: March 16 to May 11, 2024

Announcement of winners: June 1, 2024

The top 100 posters will be selected by a jury panel of international design professionals.

Entry specifications

  • Portrait format poster addressing the creative brief.
  • Posters may be designed by a single author or by a team.
  • Designs submitted to the contest must be original artworks that are previously unpublished.

The designs must consist entirely of the authors’ own work and must not include any copyrighted material.

Technical requirements

  • Entries must be submitted as JPG files of 1417×1984 pixels at a resolution of 72DPI, saved in RGB colour space.
  • If you are selected, we will ask you to send us by email a high resolutions file. Therefore, your original file should be of 5906×8268 pixels at a resolution of 300DPI, saved in CMYK colour space (corresponding to 50×70 cm in printed size).



Celeste Prieto, Paraguay; Ciprian N. Isac, Romania; Claudia Tello, Mexico; Costantinos Pissourios, Cyprus; Donnette Cooper, Jamaica; Erin Wright, United States; Kathiana Cardona, Venezuela; Lila Skanavi, Greece; Nicholas Da Silva (ZOOLOOK), United States; Tomoko Miyagawa, Japan; Zhijun Wang, China.

Final Selection

Anna Kłos, Poland; Antonio Castro H., United States; Byoungil-Sun, Korea; Christopher Scott, Ecuador; David Carson, United States; Dr. Arafat Al-Naim, United Arab Emirates; Elizabeth Resnick, United States; Frank Arbelo, Cuba; Kleon Medugorac, Switzerland; Kiko Farkas, Brazil; Mehdi Saeedi, Iran; Mirko Ilic, Bosnia; Rikke Hansen, Denmark.


Reggae Poster Contest